One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a White Heron wielding a boy

Today saw me surprised and lost, darkened and heartened alternately.

Today I have heard the Mumford & Sons album Sigh No More.

I…I don’t like it.

I’m sorry to say it but…I don’t like it. I was so disappointed to hear the songs I remember as so vividly beautiful, so simple and raw, seemingly processed through some 6-piece, big-band orchestra and a ‘FUCKING UNCONTROLLABLE BANJO PLAYER’ effect. Urrgh, “Who will kill the banjo player?” That should be a song.

Darkened, I turned to the internets at the early hours for redemption – rarely a good thing. This morning, for example, I reinitiated a long-dead forum discussion on whether space travel would ever be truly feasible in our lifetimes.

It isn’t.

However, in doing so, I was forced to hunt through my massive unread feeds of music articles only to discover Mountain Man.

It seems to me I seem to be the luckiest man alive sometimes – I’ll often find myself staring down the dark end of balance only to be shifted back to the centre by a friend or force. Thank you universe. Thank you for giving me a Mountain Man to love.

2 thoughts on “One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a White Heron wielding a boy

  1. This isn’t just a blandly overproduced country rock album… This is an M and S blandly overproduced country rock album, now with lashings of jangly plagiaristic banjo jus. It isn’t very good, is it? Disappointing.

    I might write a whole article about overproduction this week on http://iconoclashed.wordpress.com eeee shameless plug. Forgive me.

  2. Banjo players are rare…. GOOD banjo players? even more… But what is country music without the allmighty banjo player? I think – credit crunch is to blame!!! And we have to suffer the consequences? fusssssssy fuz xxx

Leave a Reply

