“Like it’s burning in my blood” – Doctor Who, Series Five, episode 9 “Cold Blood” review

All the tropes, all the ropes.

Both last week’s and this week’s episode had all the elements of old Who and for once I find myself agreeing almost entirely with the Gruadian review when he says it reminded him of Star Trek.

“Ooo. I love a big mining thing.”

Last week’s episode gave us The Doctor wielding a boyish slingshot, wearing super-trendy 2010 referencing late80s/early90s sunglasses, “Oi! Don’t diss the sonic”, more proof of just how excellent The Doctor is with kids and a great, big timely analogy for the dangers of drilling for things…like say oil in the gulf…but all wrapped up in a good bit of horror and comedy however as the first in a two-part story it only worked knowing that something else was to come. It did indeed stand as a good piece of scary stuffs on its own but without conclusion, it had the ‘Saving the world with Meals on Wheels’ as one of its highlights.

“Come on. Be extraordinary.”

“Got any celery?” The Doctor might aswell have briefly transformed into Peter Davidson for that – that and the ‘There should have been another way’, ‘Why can’t we all just get along?’ moral that pervaded both episodes.

In both though, the emphasis on the Silurian breathing was fanboytastic and the emphasis that “We’re not monsters” for both sides was reinforced with some excellent juxtaposition editing of Malekeh the Silurian scientist and Tony Mack the Welsh engineer.

Talking of Cymru, it was good to see the show acknowledge its location/production and all out give it some Cymraeg with its very smart, cool Elliot wanting to get away, it’s pronunciation of ‘here’ and give us more catchphrases! Who doesn’t love giving their favourite character a catchphrase for a while? OK, apart from the die-hards – “FAaaaab” and “Squeaky Bum Time…Super Squeaky Bum Time!” Are now set as Matt Smith’s madness continues.

“I was dressed for Rio!”

Ignoring the slightly overplayed knowing nods to Karen Gillan’s miniskirt wearing, all involved acted pretty damn well these last two weeks -especially those playing the militaristic Silurians and the scared Ambrose mam – but some small in-Doctor Who production team should go to the editor and the director for keeping me on my toes and actually scaring me. Rory’s death caught me completely unaware!

“No. Not here. Not now.”

The only [and only slightly] ropey bit is how our cracks come into play: have they given away too much? The Pandorica now seems sure to be the engagement ring box and we know that the TARDIS might explode! Come on Moffat!

Of course, now you’ll say that he’ll find a way to turn that around on us but do we really want him to?

Ropey connections that are in danger of showing the engine behind the illusion – keep it close, Executive Moffat is all I can say. That and give me more River Song, damn it.

We’ll see, in time.

3 thoughts on ““Like it’s burning in my blood” – Doctor Who, Series Five, episode 9 “Cold Blood” review

  1. I was actually gutted by Rory dying, but as soon as he started acting heroically and with real human grace, I knew it was coming, and so began mentally preparing myself. The fact that he not only died, but was erased completely was a moment of real tragedy. I can’t tell if he will be back or not, though.
    I enjoyed this two-parter – it was fun, scary, relevant… everything a good Who should be. I also got excited everytime I saw Pen-Y-Fan written on the van, too.

    But why would homo-reptilia have breasts?

  2. Hehehe.

    Why would they indeed. I think some lizards have breasts but I’m unsure that they sit in the same universe as us…or The Doctor…wherever he may be.

    Good point on the Rory front – it was quite surprisingly, guttingly tragic. What intrigued me also was the moment that Amy forgot him there was a pretty big BANG.

    Another pernickity point I didn’t want to mention in the post but am left thinking about it now is how the hell did the Doctor put his hand in there and not get a good proportion o himself wiped from existence? Namely, his arm. A one-armed, grizzled Doctor with a screwdriver complex? I expect to see a robotic arm before the series is out or I’m going round to Moffat’s place and buying him dinner…of the Vogon poetry kind.

  3. I think the bang was just the landing of the TARDIS, no? And the whole arm in the crack thing… I guess its just one of those things we aren’t supposed to question. Wibbley wobbley, etc.
    Tell you what, I’m intrigued by next weeks episode. Richard ‘I was great 20 years ago before I met Hugh Grant’ Curtis writing a Who about Van Gogh… could be ace. I’ve always been fascinated with the death of Vincent Van Gogh, crawling through fields wounded by his own bullets to die in bed. He wrote possibly the best suicide note ever, too. La Tristesse Duera, and all that.

Leave a Reply

