On 38hours of fathering – Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows, Part 1

FAIR WARNING: spoilers. Big, fat, spoilery ones with spoiling fingers picking at spoiling toes. Did I mention SPOILERS?
The newest Potter film is intriguing: beginning with interesting [but not mind-blowing, mind] cinematography that encourages us to lean toward seeing it as a questioning on oppression and tyranny; animation right in the middle – not animation interwoven, as before, but an entire section devoted to an explanatory piece; thereafter a more fabulous approach than the previously gritty [quite for children’s films, come on] 2 films but with violence and death thrown in.
It is, in short, a truer fantasy than the previous films – it is long, a little winding, difficult and unending but wondrous.

I’d forgotten how much time I’ve spent with the characters and so immediately empathised with them; as I’ve watched all the films and read the last 3 books [the latter I did in a day and wouldn’t recommend anyone does – the better the films get, the worse the books] I’ve given at least 38 hours of my life to Harry Potter. That’s 38 hours of my life with three central characters who I, probably, weirdly began to feel like a father to.
Sooooo, what all this means, is that when those characters were on screen and in dangerous situations, I was scared for them; when they were in pain, I cried – more than once I cried during the newest film and I was surprised. I think it’s the strength of the acting from Emma Watson and Rupert Grint – poor Daniel Radcliffe is slowly being left behind.
Every child of 12 should see one Harry Potter film every six months of their life so that they begin to understand the great fantasy metaphor – that nothing in life is so fantastic as life itself and all fantasy is just an extension of the wonder of life but even within the wonder of our fantastical reality, there is still pain, there is still death and we must struggle.
We don’t struggle as an audience watching The Deathly Hallows – the time didn’t seem long to me, at all – but the film itself was not as good a film as the previous. Not for want of a conclusion, I think there was a perfectly good emotional and physical narrative conclusion but The Deathly Hallows lost some of its audience in the screening I was in and I know that the Half-Blood Prince didn’t.
Leave a Reply

